Chairman Vincent C. Gray and Dr. Kurt Newman to Receive Awards

Hospital and Health Care Advocates to Receive Awards at

DCHA’s 45th Anniversary Gala, November 16


Chairman Vincent C. Gray to Receive Health Equity Award

The DCHA Board of Directors has selected Chairman Vincent C. Gray (Ward 7 Councilmember and Chair, Committee on Hospital & Health Equity) as the first honoree to receive DCHA’s Health Equity Award. This much deserved recognition is in honor of Chairman Gray’s decades of service to the District of Columbia and his perseverance in ensuring that all residents have access to quality health care. Chairman Gray’s steadfast and unwavering commitment to creating a system of health care that ensures access that should not be limited based on zip code will soon be a reality with the opening of the Cedar Hill Regional Medical Center, slated to open the Fall of 2024. This is just one example of his legacy of commitment and dedication to eradicating health disparities.

Dr. Kurt Newman to Receive Robert L. Sloan Leadership Award 

The DCHA Board of Directors has selected Dr. Kurt Newman, former President & CEO of Children’s National Hospital, to receive the Robert L. Sloan Leadership Award for his years of service and demonstrated leadership qualities. Dr. Newman’s commitment to fostering successful relationships and partnering with the DC health care community, along with his high personal integrity and professional excellence, has made a positive impact on the residents of DC and beyond. The Robert L. Sloan Leadership Award is presented to a senior level individual from a DCHA member hospital for having demonstrated the qualities of leadership inspired by Mr. Sloan. Named in honor of the former President & CEO of Sibley Memorial Hospital from 1985 until 2012, he also served two terms as Chairman of the DCHA Board of Directors.

© 2024. District of Columbia Hospital Association.