DCHA Patient Safety & Quality Awards

Patient Safety & Quality Poster Competition Winners

The District of Columbia Hospital Association awarded its 2023 Patient Safety & Quality Awards for its poster competition at its Patient Safety & Quality Summit on November 14.

“Congratulations to the poster competition winners. Their expertise and tireless efforts are instrumental in paving the way for an improved health care system to better serve patients and provide quality patient care,” said DCHA President & CEO Jacqueline D. Bowens.

  • Золото: Children’s National, Improving the Utilization of Palliative Care Consultation in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
    • Emily Rosenstein, Sofia Perazzo, and Jan Wilson
  • Серебряный: MedStar National Rehabilitation Hospital, Improving Patient Outcomes Through High Intensity Gait Training
    • Maria Stidham, Katherine Brundage, and Alyssa Herzog
  • Серебряный: Howard University Hospital, Midline Or Middle Ages! Catheter Associated Bloodstream Infection Reduction and Patient Satisfaction Improvement Strategy
    • Mpey Tabot Tabot, Renee Skific, John Prempeh, Mailen Fernandez, Rohan Kuruvilla, Mesay Asfaw, Daniel Larbi, Angella P. Browne, Terrance Jacobs; Shelly McDonald-Pinkett, Angesom Kibreab, and Alem Mehari
  • Бронза: The George Washington University Hospital, Education & Call Backs for Patients with Hypertensive Disorders of Pregnancy Increases Adherence to Postpartum Care
    • Sheetal Sheth, Emily Nuss, Erika Sasaki, Phyllis Harris-White, Lauren Wohl, Kathryn Marko, and Lisa Cook
  • Бронза: Howard University Hospital, Taking Wound Care Outcomes to the Next Level
    • Linda Miller, India Medley, Gina Wilson, and Musu Komeyan
  • Бронза: MedStar Georgetown University Hospital, Impact of Supply Chain Disruption on CLABSIs in a Pediatric Transplant Unit
    • Megan Rayes

The Gold Winner was awarded a $3,000 prize, the Silver Winners received $2,000, and the Bronze Winners received $1,000. The award winners were chosen by a panel of independent judges from the health care industry. Congratulations to all winners.

Patient Safety & Quality Individual Award Winners

DCHA awarded its 2023 Patient Safety & Quality Awards for a non-clinical and clinical individual who exhibit excellence in their field, strengthening their hospital’s mission and goals. Award winners also manage change in an environment of competing priorities, and support resiliency and engagement from patients, caregivers, and the care team. The awards were presented during DCHA’s 45th Anniversary Gala Celebration on November 16.

Paul Quigley, Executive Director of Security, Parking & Transportation at Children’s National won the award in the non-clinical category.

Paul has implemented several initiatives to improve the safety for the patients, families, and staff at Children’s National Hospital. He’s instituted comprehensive training programs and processes including active shooter training, de-escalation techniques, electronic security screening, and security townhall meetings. Paul is a person that brings knowledge and experience and communicates his passion for safety and security in a way that makes you feel comfortable, not fearful. Even though he’s a leader, he will routinely be on the frontlines making rounds to ensure he’s meeting the safety expectations of staff, patients, and families.

Rosie Dunkle, Critical Care Clinical Specialist at MedStar Washington Hospital Center won the award in the clinical category.

Rosie’s leadership on the Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infections (CAUTI) Prevention Committee at MedStar Washington Hospital Center has led to a diagnostic stewardship protocol, nurse champion empowerment program, interdisciplinary CAUTI event reviews, and meaningful improvements to the pathology, provider, and nursing Electronic Medical Record resulting in a sustained CAUTI Standard Infection Ratio far exceeding system expectations. Rosie is an exceptional nurse who consistently exemplifies the highest level of safe, quality patient care for the most vulnerable patients. Rosie’s open communication skills enable her to be a great team player who demonstrates a caring and compassionate attitude towards her patients, co-workers, and family members.

“Congratulations to our winners – Paul & Rosie! Your dedication to creating a safe patient care environment is a true embodiment of what hospitals stand for,” said DCHA President & CEO Jacqueline D. Bowens.

Distinguished Service Award

DCHA presented its Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Sharon Lewis, former interim director of DC Health. The Distinguished Service Award is presented to individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership, exemplary professional skills, and noteworthy achievements in the health care sector. Dr. Sharon Lewis stands as a shining example of a dedicated professional who devoted 36 years of her career to serving the DC Health hospital and health care community. Dr. Lewis excels in fostering collaboration between private, public, federal, and municipal stakeholders, driving innovation in health care management, and spearheading advancements in health care careers.

“The Distinguished Service Award recognizes and celebrates Dr. Sharon Lewis’s extraordinary contributions to the health care sector. Her dedication and exceptional skills have left an indelible mark on the industry,” said DCHA President & CEO Jacqueline D. Bowens.

DCHA extends its congratulations to Dr. Lewis and looks forward to continuing the exceptional work together and delivering outstanding leadership to the DC community.

© 2024. District of Columbia Hospital Association.